I Guess It’s Over

by Poetically Yours, Chesca

“Happy Sweet 16th!” they said.

But how come sixteen isn’t all that sweet.

It’s more like bitterness from my thoughts,

And sourness from your ‘love’.

And I wish I was 9 again–

Thinking and believing that sixteen would be a dream;

A dream I lived now that was more of a nightmare.

16 was the age when all of it came to an end.

When I realized happily ever afters did not exist in this princess’ fairy tale.

I didn’t think this day would come so soon.

I’ve always wished that I could be that princess for you.

You have no idea.

To me, you were worth more than diamonds on my crown

And stacks of gold bars treasured in a vault.

I don’t think anybody has ever loved you the way I did.

And there you are–

Riding on a horse with your hair in the wind

And arms wrapped around your waist

By another girl

On the back seat.

And suddenly I no longer feel like a princess,

But rather the dirt being galloped upon

By you and her.

I’d search lands for another Prince Charming.

But I know in my heart that I was never really a princess.

I was only a damsel in distress–

Locked up in a castle,

Years waiting and waiting to be rescued

By someone

Who turns out

To not be you.

Just another rant poem. I wrote this in about 2 minutes because I was just so sad today. But anyway, this poem was inspired by another poem written by someone I know in real life and if you’re reading this right now, thank you.

